Hey all, new to wrenching, total greenhorn

Northern_Rookie

Reaction score
Hey all, found the forum poking around for tips for a project I've been looking at... found and an old Plymouth outside in the farmyard. Got it open and found out it's a '74 Fury II. Silly me, figured its as goof a first project as any!

Now I'm fishing around trying to sort out where to begin, and what the heck my granddad, dad and/or uncles did to this more thing... so far, the Alternators loose under the hood, same with the power steering pump... I know the starter Dad literally robbed last year for the swather... oh and one of the battery cables is currently a set of vice grips wrapped with rubber hosing..!

Can't say it won't be interesting! Haha

Well: That's a tall order depending on how long it has been sitting in the field. 6 months? 6 years? I am no expert but, first I would make sure the motor is not stuck. See if it turns over by hand. Then you need to get some clean fuel in a remote tank, (maybe an outboard motor tank or similar) a new battery, some real battery cables, change the oil, flush the rad and cooling system and replace fluids. New spark plugs wouldn't hurt. Tighten up and align the alternator, ps pump and anything else that looks Mickey Moused together. Hook up your remote tank to your fuel lines in the engine compartment, Prime the carb, and see if it will turn over and perhaps run and stumble. If you can get it to start, even slightly, pull the carb and clean it up, pull the gas tank, get it flushed and go from there. What motor ? How many miles, or K's. What is the plan for the car? How much $ do you want to spend? Why did it get parked in the first place? All of these are items you need to think about.

Try to turn it by hand, if it does, continue.
Check the oil level,
Remove (cut) 2 fuel hoses from the fuel pump,
Cut "all" the old belts off,
Put a started and battery in it with good connections of any type,