A new respect for Stan

D Cluley

Reaction score
You've mentioned a few times the tight quarters in and under the dash in the Formals.

Well, I pulled the cruise control setup from the world's most disgusting '74 New Yorker at my local U-Pull yesterday.

Took several minutes just to FIND the brake switch. I eventually got it out, but snapped off the threaded part! :BangHead: Since I'm hoping to use this in my Dart I'll have to fabricate a bracket anyway, so it may be usable.

The car was rusty enough that I briefly considered hacking through the firewall and getting at it from under the hood!

Once again, I am sooo glad my '65 doesn't have A/C.

My heart still goes out in memory to all the assembly line workers who lost their sanity in installing the instrument panels of those %^$# things.

My heart still goes out in memory to all the assembly line workers who lost their sanity in installing the instrument panels of those %^$# things.

I'm still learning/experimenting with that damn dash.

Taking it apart is bad enough. Trying to put it back together is like stuffing 10 lbs. of potatoes into a 5 lb. bag.

Take away all the ductwork , the ATC II crap, the 40 miles of 2" thick wiring harnesses, and it's not bad....

There is likely less BS in the older Chryslers, but I think it still was the biggest PITA in this project. You can figure on adding 4-5 wounds gouged into knuckes and the back of your hands doing this. Big paws are a detriment here.

You definitely don't want any little kids around when you are putting one of these things together, or you would certainly be adding to their vocabulary. My biggest surprise with this was the weight compared to a B-body.

'67 NewYorker Apr-May 2006 (36).jpg'67 NewYorker Apr-May 2006.jpg

'67 NewYorker Apr-May 2006 (36).jpg

'67 NewYorker Apr-May 2006.jpg