Newbie Mopar Owner - Fury III Automatic Transmission Slipping?

Blue_66_Fury

Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm looking forward to utilizing this thread as much as possible. Up until now I have never owned any mopar cars, or even any classic cars. I am more or less self taught when it comes to doing mechanics, with only a couple years of wrenching experience in tech school (I'm 24 with no prior car experience before entering tech school), so please bear with me as I do my best to describe certain issues I'm experiencing with my 66 Fury III.

I bought this car with the intention of not having a project, as the previous owner had presented a lot of work done to it already. The first few weeks of ownership were great, the car drove good and I didn't experience any issues. Until recently, I noticed that when I'm cruising down the road at any speed above 30mph, the car will bog down. When the car is cold, it drives fine and I can accelerate fairly quickly without experiencing performance problems.

When the car has warmed up, and I'm cruising down at above 30mph (usually around 55 is my average speed) the car will slow itself down. My foot on the gas pedal doesn't move, from the way the car sounds it's as if it wants to downshift. You can hear it slowing down (thanks to the loud exhaust). It's not putting itself into neutral, as there is some response in acceleration when I give the gas pedal light pressure.