Exhaust manifold sealer

I wouldn't use Loctite Thread Locker (especially the 638 green) in that application. Since it goes into the water jacket, I'm not sure if it would seal or not, probably not. The main reason is if you break a stud removing the manifold at a later date, it's going to be that much harder to remove the broken stud. Having worked a bit with the 638 myself, I would say that heat from the exhaust would make it useless as a locker anyway.

I would use Permatex #3. It's a slow drying, non-hardening compound that will work up to 400*F. You want to seal the threads so coolant doesn't leak and they don't need to be locked into place. I would rather have the stud back out rather than break.

Also, no gasket under the manifold, just like the factory did.

I'm not a professional engine builder, but I have built a bunch of 440 engines over the years.

I wouldn't use Loctite Thread Locker (especially the 638 green) in that application. Since it goes into the water jacket, I'm not sure if it would seal or not, probably not. The main reason is if you break a stud removing the manifold at a later date, it's going to be that much harder to remove the broken stud. Having worked a bit with the 638 myself, I would say that heat from the exhaust would make it useless as a locker anyway.

I would use Permatex #3. It's a slow drying, non-hardening compound that will work up to 400*F. You want to seal the threads so coolant doesn't leak and they don't need to be locked into place. I would rather have the stud back out rather than break.

I'm not a professional engine builder, but I have built a bunch of 440 engines over the years.
Thanks but when I took manifolds off it did have gaskets

Thanks but when I took manifolds off it did have gaskets
It should not have gaskets. Unless it's some weird RV engine, it won't have gaskets from the factory.